Buy Album

About Rafta, Rafta

Music from the Royal National Theatre Production by Ayub Khan-Din based on All in Good Time by Bill Naughton.

The wedding feast is over and his father’s dancing the bhangra, but the groom himself is busy on the net. and when it’s time for bed, he’s so woefully inhibited by the proximity of his parents, let alone his brother’s childish pranks, that his beautiful virgin bride remains just that. Six weeks later, the whole family start to panic. A hugely warm-hearted, comic tale of close-knit Indian family life in England by the author of East is East, Ayub Khan-Din. Bollywood actor Harish Patel, making his debut on the London stage, is joined by Meera Syal[/learn_more]


Composer: Niraj Chag


Vocals : Japjit Kaur

Tabla : Manjeet Rasiya

Keyboards : Sudeep Rao

Director: Nicholas Hytner

Designer: Tim Hatley

Lighting Designer: Hugh Vanstone

Sound Designer: Paul Groothuis


Etash Tailor : Arsher Ali

Jai Dutt : Rudi Dharmalingam

Laxman Patel : Kriss Dosanjh

Vina Patel : Rokhsaneh Ghawam-Shahidi

Molly Bhatt : Natalie Grady

Atul Dutt : Ronny Jhutti

Lata Patel : Shaheen Khan

Jivaj Bhatt : Simon Nagra

Eeshwar Dutt : Harish Patel

Lopa Dutt : Meera Syal

with Kal Aise Pooja Ghai Shiv Grewal Pooja Shah

Special Thanks:

Matthew Scott, David Gallagher, Simon Long, Iqbal Khan, Katrina Gilroy, Emma B Lloyd, Anna Hill, Brewyeen Rowland, Neil Mickel, Sam Kenyon.

Album Artwork/Photography: Ajay Chag (

by Ayub Khan-Din based on All in Good Time by Bill Naughton[/learn_more]


1. The Wedding

2. The Bloody Bhangra

3. She Doesn’t Sing Anymore

4. Take Me Home

5. Eeshwar

6. Rafta Rafta

7. The Gurka Tandoori

8. Its Life

9. Jaago

10. Bangles Live Version (Taken from Along The Dusty Road)

All music composed, recorded and mixed by Niraj Chag at Buzz-erk Studios, London

Catalogue Number: Buzzcd01[/learn_more]

Listen to tracks